Sunday, October 16, 2011

Sam Mickens Premieres New Song "Witch's Cauldron" at MTV Hive * Debut Solo Album "Slay & Slake" Out November 22nd on Shatter Your Leaves

Sam Mickens
(current and former member of The Dead Science, Xiu Xiu, Parenthetical Girls)
Premieres New Song "Witch's Cauldron" at MTV Hive
Debut Solo Album "Slay & Slake" (feat Craig Wedren + MF Grimm) Out November 22nd on Shatter Your Leaves!

Stream "Witch's Cauldron" from Sam Mickens exclusively @ MTV Hive!

In support of his upcoming debut solo album "Slay & Slake" (out November 22nd on Shatter Your Leaves), current Xiu Xiu member and former Dead Science front-man Sam Mickens has premiered his first new song from the upcoming album at

Featuring guest appearances from MF Grimm and Craig Wedren, "Slay & Slake" will also feature a free download of a collection of remixes from the album featuring Deerhoof, Pictureplane, Burning Star Core, MF Grimm and more upon pre-order.

"Slay & Slake" Track List:
Lord Death Man
Grisly Ghouls (ft. MF Grimm)
No Reason
Masked Woman
Witch's Cauldron
Rip & Rig
Elegy (Cartoon Piano)
At the Mountains of Madness/Ebb Tide
Goodnight Human Torch/There Must Be More to Life Than This
The Will to Live

About "Slay & Slake"

"Slay & Slake," the debut full length fromSam Mickens (The Dead Science, Xiu Xiu, Parenthetical Girls) will be released November 22nd on 180g LP and for digital download by Brooklyn imprint Shatter Your Leaves. An avant-glam masterpiece of epic design and execution, "Slay & Slake" harkens back to the grand "concept albums" of the '60s and '70s, including albums such as Forever Changes and What's Going On.

Composed and performed entirely by Mickens and recorded with Shatter Your Leaves-head Stu Watson at his Crazy Cat House studio in Brooklyn over several manic all-night sessions, "Slay & Slake" features a diverse choir of guest vocalists, including Craig Wedren (Shudder to Think), Zac Pennington (Parenthetical Girls) and underground NY rap legend MF Grimm. The record also includes partial covers/interpolations of songs by Freddie Mercury & Michael Jackson, The Righteous Brothers, and Extra Life.

A collection of remixes of all ten of the album's songs, by Deerhoof, Former Ghosts, Burning Star Core, Pictureplane, MF Grimm and more will be available for free download with pre-order of the LP at

* Watch the "Slay & Slake" teaser video here!

Watch the video for new song "Burning Hell" from the Sam Mickens Ecstatic Showband and Revue here!

Sam Mickens Live!
Nov. 2nd Sam Mickens' Ecstatic Showband & Revue @ Public Assembly Brooklyn, NY
Nov. 22nd Sam Mickens' Fourth World @ Death by Audio Brooklyn, NY *

* = (Slay & Slake Record Release Show!)
Sam Mickens on Facebook

No comments: