Friday, October 28, 2011

NEW CASSETTES release "Silent Guns Deluxe EP" on Nov 8, 2011 via MTV's HYPE MUSIC




New York, NY (October 28, 2011) - NEW CASSETTES is a five-piece band from Northampton, England who delivers a fresh blast of modern rock that is artful, edgy and infectious.  The quintet originally released the Silent Guns EP in early 2011 and now MTV’s HYPE MUSIC will release Silent Guns Deluxe EP digitally on November 8, 2011.  Originally a three track EP, Silent Guns Deluxe EP contains thee new tracks featured in MTV programming.

PureVolume is currently premiering a FREE DOWNLOAD and hosting the video of the title track, “Silent Guns.” 

New Cassettes have perfected the art of indie-rock cool with the awesomely infectious ‘Silent Guns’," commends Alyssa Coluccio of PV.  Check them both out here. A band directed video of the title track is out now and currently in rotation on mtvU.
While in the states working on new material last year, the band took a break from the studio to do a special ASCAP-hosted showcase for TV and movie executives at the Gibson Showroom in Los Angeles.  Blown away by the performance and immediate fans of the band, MTV asked them to join the new HYPE MUSIC venture between MTV and Extreme Music.
Now headed up by industry tastemaker Nic Harcourt, MTV’s HYPE Music considers New Cassettes a flagship artist for the program.  Last month, New Cassettes performed an acoustic set and were interviewed before the London Hype Music Launch party at the famed Abbey Road Studios. 
The band worked with Russell Emanuelle from Extreme/HYPE to rework three songs from their HYPE catalogue into stripped back acoustic versions, adding more emphasis to the feel of the lyrics and show off anther side to the songs and band.  The session was recorded in infamous Studio 2, appropriately dubbed: The Beatles Studio.  Keep an eye out for footage to come shortly.
Evoking a fascinating blend of classic indie rock (R.E.M.), pop (XTC) and new wave (New Order), yet thoroughly 21st Century with spiky guitars that go head to head with propulsive rhythms and hook-filled choruses, New Cassettes is fast-gaining critical acclaim on both sides of the Atlantic.  The band have been leaving audiences swooning since 2005, from supporting the Strokes to playing Glastonbury, Latitude and Wireless Festivals, releasing three singles and their debut album The Art Of... in the UK and Japan. 
New Cassettes have gained critical acclaim from plays on Radio 1, BBC6 and XFM, and have been a MySpace featured artist as well as the Radio 1 front-page profile.  The band been featured on the "The Inbetweeners” (UK) Soundtrack and completed a successful headlining tour in Japan.
Additional placements include “Bite Your Lip”  in the season premiere of Grey’s Anatomy in September and multiple songs on MTV hit Jersey Shore.
New Cassettes will be touring the U.S. in early 2012, leading to the release of their debut full-length at SXSW in March.   Please reach out if you’d like more info on New Cassettes, a copy of Silent Guns Deluxe EP or to speak to the band.
New Cassettes - Silent Guns Deluxe EP Tracklist:
1 - Silent Guns
2 - You Are A Slow Wave
3 - You Won't Stop
4 - I'm Always Right
5 - Munich and Berlin
6 - Televise This

Stream Silent Guns Deluxe EP at
New Cassettes is:
Dan Battison - bass
Nik Gray - guitar/vocals
Tom Stubbs - vocals
Tommy Francis - drums/vocals
Owen Reed - guitar/vocals

No comments: