Thursday, August 23, 2007

Travis Mitchell Band album release set for September

Dallas-based quartet the Travis Mitchell Band is releasing their next album, “Waiting On Tomorrow,” on September 25th. The release will be preceded by a digital single featuring the tracks “I Don’t Mind” and “Ever Again,” which hits download portals on August 21st. Earlier this year, the band headed down to Gautier, Mississippi to record “Waiting On Tomorrow,” their sophomore record, with Grammy-nominated artist Chris Henderson of the rock band 3 Doors Down. The album, which Mitchell says is a “Nashville/Texas country mix,” was completed in a rather hectic 22 days of pre-production, writing and recording. “I feel like this is the first time I’ve found my voice and my sound,” says Mitchell. And that sound is quite versatile, as evidenced by the mix of honky-tonk, ballads, and rock-infused alt-country peppering the new album. “Working with Chris Henderson was brilliant,” Mitchell continues. “I loved it. He was very real, and he let everyone express their ideas. We all worked really well together, and that helped some amazing ideas come out.”

"What struck me about Travis' music was not just that it was Texas country, which I have a soft spot for, but that it's a little more rocking and it takes you by surprise," Henderson told the Dallas Morning News. "You really don't know where it will go. I heard his record and liked it and then I went to see him live and that sealed the deal. ... I was thoroughly impressed." He elaborates by saying, “Travis's music is fresh and exciting. He brings a new element to the country music scene. It’s like country music on steroids.” In addition to manning the production helm on “Waiting On Tomorrow,” Henderson also contributed by co-writing two songs on the album, “She’s That Kind Of Girl” and “Ever Again.”

In just over a year, the Travis Mitchell Band signed a record deal with Rock Ridge Music and toured with almost every major headliner on the Texas Country circuit including Cross Canadian Ragweed, Randy Rogers, Jack Ingram, Cory Morrow, and many more. In June 2006, they released a 3-song digi sampler, which paved the way for the release of their first album, Forget What’s Wrong,” in September 2006 (which the Dallas Morning News called “a disc full of potential… Touches of roots and classic rock dart in and out of the Texas roadhouse country style.”). Mitchell was also part of Lynyrd's Skynyrd's "Gimme 3 Days" cruise, which sailed from January 5th-8th, 2007 to the Bahamas.

Mitchell and his band have been touring extensively in Texas and plan to continue their live performances further afield leading up and in support of “Waiting On Tomorrow.”

No comments: