Friday, September 5, 2014

Heiress (mems. of Himsa / Undertow) Announces New Album "Of Great Sorrow" Out November 18th on The Mylene Sheath * Premieres New Song "Hover" at

(feat. John Pettibone of Himsa / Undertow)
Announces New Album "Of Great Sorrow" Out November 18th on The Mylene Sheath
Premieres New Song "Hover" Streaming Exclusively at

Stream "Hover" from Heiress exclusively @!

"'Hover' captures the band, rooted in hardcore, expanding their palette into a brooding and building epic with touches of doom, post-rock and more. You gotta hear it." -

"...all of this seething atmosphere and separation is a clever (and, at times, straight-up lovely) prelude to the sonic haymaker Heiress eagerly throw anytime a listener drops his or her metaphorical hands a bit." - Decibel

"...honest, raw emotion... 4/5" - Alternative Press

"...creative blend of sludge and atmospheric post-rock... 8/10" - American Aftermath

"...unpredictability in the genres of aggressive music that is sorely needed..." - The 1st Five

"...the full experience of just how heavy rock music should be done..." - Seattle Passive Aggressive

Following their critically acclaimed debut full length Early Frost (2013, Deathwish Inc.), Seattle, WA's Heiress is now prepared to unleash their chilling sophomore effort, Of Great Sorrow. The album contains 10 crushing tracks that grab you by the throat and squeeze for 44 jarring minutes.

For those uninitiated, Heiress is an American rock band from Seattle, WA featuring former members of Himsa, Undertow, Jough Dawn Baker and Shift. The group performs a cathartic blend of hardcore punk and atmospheric post-metal. They formed in Seattle, WA in 2006 originally with vocalist Adam Paysse, the co-founder of Rome Plow Records. Then in December 2008 John Pettibone,formerly of many Seattle-area bands including Himsa and Undertow, took over Paysse's place as lead vocalist. With this lineup, Heiress recorded a five-song self-titled EP and self-released it in 2009. Soon after, in 2010, the band signed to Deathwish Inc., an independent hardcore record label that was co-founded by Jacob Bannon of Converge. The group's first release through the label was a split 7" with Narrows. In mid-2011, legendary producer Jack Endino (Nirvana, Mudhoney, Soundgraden) produced and engineered new Heiress tracks at Soundhouse Studios. Endino also remixed two previously recorded Heiress songs which were released as the Naysayer EP in 2012. The single featured artwork by Demian Johnston, who previously played with Pettibone inUndertow and Nineironspitfire, and was positively received by Alternative Press (4/5). Ten of the remaining tracks from this session became Heiress' full-length debut album titled Early Frost, released by Deathwish Inc. in early 2013 and received an 8/10 rating fromDecibel Magazine.

That brings us to the present tense and their bone-shattering new full length, Of Great Sorrow, which was recorded with Tad Doyle at Witch Ape Studio (YOB, Lesbian, TAD) and set for release on November 18th via The Mylene Sheath (Pelican, Caspian, Junius). The album was mastered by Chris Hanzsek (Soundgarden, Melvins, Screaming Trees) with artwork once again handled by Demian Johnston. Never content standing still, the band is already tracking a third album with producer Matt Bayles, set for release in 2015, even as the world may not be done absorbing the sonic explosion of Of Great Sorrow for years to come. The time ofHeiress is now, and they're going for the throat.

"Of Great Sorrow" Track List:
1. Of Great Sorrow
2. Dehumaned
3. Held
4. Blading
5. Dismalist
6. Old Haunts

7. Hover (Noisey Premiere)
8. Lashings
9. Silent Hooves
10. Just Two Figures

Heiress Live!
September 18th - Seattle, WA @ The Narwhal (basement of The Unicorn) w/ The Helm + Old Iron
October 8th - Seattle, WA @ El Corazon w/ Gigan, Pyrrhon + Artificial Brain

For more information, visit:

No comments: