Friday, September 19, 2014

U Sco Streams New Album "Treffpunkt" Out September 23rd on New Atlantis Records

Stream "Treffpunkt" from U SCO exclusively @ The Obelisk!

"...eight brainbending instrumental selections of noise-gone-prog, churning high-speed math metal changes out with raw punker tones and some feedbackular hum for atmosphere and abrasion alike." - The Obelisk

"U SCO's approach is unforgiving, and they execute their mechanical fury with a fiery precision. The band's venomous Hella-style hard math bites with the vengeance of a zombie cobra head, guitar riffs relentlessly cauterizing ears. Fans of post-hardcore nihilism and post-rock spaciness should have much to bliss out/freak out to here." - The Stranger

"The instrumentals on Treffpunkt are composed with the precision of a jazz ensemble, but U Sco plays them with the speed and volume of a technical metal group. ...U Sco avoids expectation, with songs that sound like ZZ Top viewed through a peyote haze ("Iguana House") or allow a Helmet-like assault melt into six minutes of ambient drones and cymbal washes ("Glm Lrkr")." - The Portland Mercury

"...a perfect fit for noise-junky music geeks that can take its impressive technicality and gutsiness." - Exclaim!

In support of their upcoming new album "Treffpunkt" out next Tuesday, September 23rd on New Atlantis Records, Portland's pummeling instrumental powerhouse U Sco has premiered a full stream of their new release exclusively at The Obelisk.

Recently back from a month-long, summer US tour, where the band performed with the likes of Sightings, Nick Millevoi, Dama/Libra, Hyrrokkin, Period, Microwaves, Zevious and others, the band is currently preparing to premiere the video for new album track "Tuskflower," coming in the next few weeks.

New Atlantis Records is incredibly pleased to announce Treffpunkt, the latest LP from polyrhythmic avant-punks U Sco. Consisting of members from several other notable, genre-bending Portland-bred projects, including the Jezebel Spirit, With Eyes Abstract andDuck. Little Brother, Duck!, U Sco has been an electrifying, formidable staple of Portland's unparalleled punk scene since their formation in 2011.

Treffpunkt was recorded and mixed by Paurl Walsh at Roadhouse Studios in Portland in the winter of 2013. Sonically, it's the best representation of the band so far, combining the dizzying velocity of their live performances with an aural spaciousness and lucidity that highlights the group's breathtaking consideration for musical minutiae.Treffpunkt is an immensely challenging (and equally rewarding) listen, but one should hesitate to use the word "inaccessible" - U Sco's blood is red hot. In vulgar terms, this is progressive rock with a hardcore heart. A far cry from the emotionally-detached, irritatingly-positive, regurgitated diatonic Don Caballero-worship that characterizes most contemporary math rock. This is not happy music; this is not superficially fun music. Dissonant, propulsive, and pantonal- this is monolithic art rock, triumphant its raw, discomforting sonic catharsis.

U Sco is a rock and roll anomaly- a manifestation of an evolutionary path whose reason for being isn't totally apparent. They play very complex music that - contradictorily - has a ton of guts. Treffpunkt is a fantastic record, marked by virtuosic chops, incisive arrangements, and its indifference to the mechanics of the status quo. This band isn't taking their cues from anyone. Like all great bands before them, they simply exist.

"Treffpunkt" Track List:
1. Took Chase
2. Buhkse
3. Tuskflower
4. Treffpunkt
5. Palace Vice
6. Crack in the Crystal Glass
7. Iguana House
8. Glm Lrkr

U Sco Live!
9/24 @ Habesha Lounge Portland, OR w/ Horders
10/7 @ The Know Portland, OR w/ Brandon Seabrook

For more information, visit:

No comments: