Friday, September 26, 2014

Hungry Cloud Darkening shares new track "Hold This Moment" from forthcoming album via OFF TEMPO

Washington trio Hungry Cloud Darkening are set to release their sophomore album'Glossy Recall' on October 7th via Pacific Northwest music label Off Tempo (pre-order here). The band has recently toured with and served as the backing band for Mount Eerie.

Today they share a brand new track, the atmospheric "Hold This Moment." Allyson Foster delineates the track's inspiration over at BULLETT Magazine.

Hungry Cloud Darkening is the collaborative all-analog recording project of Nicholas Wilbur, Allyson Foster, and Paul Benson. Each song is co-written in a slightly different way- all with priorities in variety and spectrum and fidelity. The three grew up in Mountain Home, Arkansas and Nixa, Missouri but have resided and operated in Anacortes, Washington for the past 6 years collectively. The project inhabits recording/event space the Anacortes Unknown, where Nich is the head engineer. 

'Glossy Recall' is a perfect showroom of unique and familiar spectrally disparate organic sounds. We are granted ample space to stand and observe the vintage-innovative use of fundamental flowers guitar and keyboard and voice and bear witness to extinct monolithic bass melodies as they once existed: clear and 3D and uncompromised by medium. The combination of the honed life-like nature of the engineering and the sparse playful behavior of the music will warrant and reward indefinite loud listens for both audiophiles and lyrics-learners alike. Allyson's cosmic breathy words are projected into a boundless space of idle moments, decaying relationships, remembering, and misremembering, painting a picture of a rainy window view with an implied meditation on it's blip nature among seasons lapsed and forthcoming. Though the record is foremost an irreverent attempt to create a new color, Glossy Recall seems to call forth feelings from listenership phases rich and deep inRoy Orbison, Yo La Tengo, Secret Square, and This Mortal Coil.
Hungry Cloud Darkening
Glossy Recall
Street Date: October 7, 2014

1. Clearly Seen
2. I Am Seen
3. Hold This Moment
4. You Look Around
5. Time To
6. Talk About Something
7. Fading Comfort
8. Blue Green
9. Hidden And No Trace
10. Inhibited Window

No comments: