Tuesday, September 2, 2014

EMPRESS AD Release Debut Album TODAY!


“Few bands can match Empress AD’s seamless balance of hooks and heaviness, atmosphere and aggression. Definitely a Band to Watch.” - REVOLVER
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE New York, NY (September 2, 2014) British prog-metal outfit EMPRESS AD are proud to release their debut ‘Still Life Moving Fast’ today via a unique partnership between The End Records/ADA and Roadrunner Records, CLICK HERE to download the album on iTunes. The album has been gaining momentum, debuting #1 on CMJ and is quickly becoming a favorite of outlets such as Loudwire, Alternative Press, Revolver, New Noise Magazine, Outburn and more!
"For me, 'Still Life Moving Fast' captures everything we're about as a band. Every ounce of our vision, passion and creativity had been used when writing and recording the record, and it's something we're really proud of. Each song is it's own entity, but when they're all put together on the record, it makes something that's even bigger and more important than any of us could of realised." - Ollie Loring
Having taken time to carefully hone their style of the music they love, EMPRESS AD, formed in 2011 by brothers Ollie (guitar and vocals) and Alex Loring (bass), together with Edd Unwin (drums) and Tom Meadon (guitar), have written an arsenal of songs that veer from an expansive, progressive sound to an aggressive, controlled roar. Citing their influences as Pink Floyd, King Crimson, the Berkshire four piece locked themselves away in a UK studio with experienced New York-based producer, Andrew Schneider (Cave In, Pelican, Old Man Gloom) to craft their debut. Their method of recording the music live, quickly, and as organically as possible has led to noticeable nuances within the album - details for the listener to pick up on after repeated plays - but, more importantly, it has led to the kind of natural feel to the music that cannot be replicated with a couple of extra weeks tweaking behind the scenes.
The result is a debut album for the ages. With lyrics that focus upon suggestive metaphors for the intangible minutiae of everyday life rather than relationships and lost love, this is a band of musicians as focused upon grooving together as one as they are on their songwriting and being able to relate to fans on an emotional level. Soothing and utterly crushing in turn, EMPRESS AD’s music juxtaposes gentle harmonies with frantic ferocity; relaxed strumming followed by thrash beats, time signature changes and other meanderings that you’ll just have to find out about for yourself. 
The album’s artwork (below) was created by San Francisco artist Seth Curcio.
Comprised of ten songs, the album’s track listing is:
    01 Still Life Moving Fast
    02 Invisible Conductor
    03 Delve Into The Retrospect
    04 Deeper In Disguise
    05 From Where I Cannot Reach
    06 On My Return
    07 Blurred Perception
    08 Haunted By Time
    09 Did We See
    10 Consumed
What the press are saying:
“Few bands can match Empress AD’s seamless balance of hooks and heaviness, atmosphere and aggression. Definitely a Band to Watch.” – REVOLVER
“A sonically perfect mixture of titanic riffs and lush, gorgeous atmosphere.” – New Noise Magazine
This is one to pick up and listen to, and I can imagine that their live performances will be incredible. Watch out for this one, I’m telling you, this is some good shit! – Metal Temple
“This is without question a band to keep your eye on.” – Sea of Tranquility
“Likely to headline Download” – Guardian
“Simply stunning” – Kerrang!
“Like the four guys from Mastodon riding a whale, wearing an Elbow t-shirt. You’ll be amazed” – Music Week
“Impressively ambitious.” – Metal Hammer
“They've hit upon one hell of a winning formula” – Rock Sound

For More Information:
Official Site

No comments: