Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Popcaan releases debut LP, streams album via NPR + covers The Fader

LISTEN: Where We Come From -

READ: The Fader's cover story - 

BUY: Where We Come From - smarturl.it/WWCF
"one of the best pop albums of the year" - Pitchfork

 "equal parts dancefloor anthems and 'conscious' tunes about Jamaican life, unified by breezy, fresh production" - NPR

"Popcaan appears to be the artist best suited to pick up the mantle and lead dancehall to its future" - The Fader 
Where We Come From is the debut album from Jamaican superstar Popcaan. Executive produced by Dre Skull and featuring productions from Dre Skull, Dubbel Dutch, Jamie Roberts, Anju Blaxx and Adde Instrumentals, Popcaan's first full length offering sees his signature melodies and uplifting tones on thirteen original tracks. As musicologist Wayne Marshall writes: 
"Where We Come From gives voice, as the best reggae does, to the contradictions of life in a society rife with inequities and yet so rich. Whether odes to the ghetto or the good life, Popcaan's lyrics bring realist portraits and utopian visions into dynamic tension. Songs about struggle and sex and happiness occupy the same space because they do. And whatever the topic, Popcaan's infectious positivity comes through." 
To celebrate the album's release today and his recently announced Fader cover story, Popcaan is offering a stream of the full album for a limited time via NPR's First Listen. Stream the album above and see below for more information about Popcaan and Mixpak.
About Popcaan:
Young Jamaican MC Popcaan burst onto the scene in 2010 on the biggest dancehall tune of the
year, 'Clarks'. As Vybz Kartel's protege, the 23­ year-old quickly proved himself as one of the most
talented up­and­coming vocalists in the genre, lending his distinctive voice to an arsenal of
bashment hits, from ghetto laments like "The System" and "Dream" to summer smashes "Ravin"
and "Party Shot", and not forgetting gallis anthem "Only Man She Want".
After a string of big records in 2011, Popcaan became the first dancehall artist since Sean Paul to
have his track playlisted on the BBC and was tipped as one of their 'Hot 20 for 2012'. He joined
Mixpak that year, with his first collaborative single with Dre Skull, "Get Gyal Easy", followed by his
cut on the Kling Klang riddim, "So We Do It", as well as "The System" on the Loudspeaker Riddim.
He's since piled up tens of millions of YouTube plays, a Billboard Hot 100 hit and high profile
collaborations with Snoop, Pusha T, and Busta Rhymes.
About Mixpak:
Founded in 2009 by producer Dre Skull, Mixpak Records is a Brooklyn­ based record label where
house music, dancehall, rap and punk co­exist in new and exciting ways. With releases from New
Orleans bounce artist Sissy Nobby, ATL rapper Lil Scrappy, dancehall giants Vybz Kartel, Beenie
Man and Popcaan, as well as numerous records from talented producers like Dubbel Dutch,
Jubilee, Melé and Douster, Mixpak is pinned together by a serious dedication to vibes.

Where We Come From
(June 10th, Mixpak Records)
1. Hold On
2. Everything Nice
3. Number One Freak
4. Love Yuh Bad
5. The System
6. Hustle
7. Waiting So Long
8. Cool It
9. Ghetto (Tired of Crying)
10. Evil
11. Addicted
12. Give Thanks
13. Where We Come From

No comments: