Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Lux releases "Coroner's Office," the lead track from upcoming "We Are Not The Same" debut.

Lux (L-R): Leah Rosen and David Chandler. Photo by The Ripper.

“Coroner’s Office” is the latest single from the upcoming debut album “We Are Not The Same” by Lux.

“...filled with synthy goodness, fuzzy guitars, and purty purty duets, making them a band worthy of your attention” – Three Imaginary Girls

Seattle duo Lux today issued another peek into the sound of its debut album We Are Not The Same, due for release on April 3rd, 2012.  The new single “Coroner’s Office” follows up the album’s first single “The Window” which was recently featured as a Magnet Magazine “MP3 At 3PM” and on the KEXP “Music That Matters” podcast.

The band wrote “Coroner’s Office” “in an addled haze of oblivion” according to the male half of the duo, David Chandler. “I was watching a lot of ‘Forensic Files’ and ‘Cold Case Files.’ There was a channel that ran this stuff 24/7. I also saw documentaries about Gacy, Gein and Dahmer. This inspired song ideas and ‘Coroner’s Office’ seemed to encapsulate these ideas the most. The song ended up being recorded at the very last minute for inclusion on the album.”

Inspired by some of the most essential artists of the era of indie and underground music (PavementThe Velvet UndergroundSonic YouthThe Magnetic FieldsThe Jesus & Mary ChainNew OrderBlondie), Leah Rosen and David Chandler trade off vocals, guitars, synths and drum programming on We Are Not The Same which they also wrote, recorded and mixed themselves. The album is due for release on April 3rd.

We Are Not The Same
(S/R – April 3rd, 2012)
Request: FULL LP

Track Listing:

01. Coroner's Office
02. Out Of Love
03. The Window
04. Valerie, They'll Never Understand
05. Little Cripple
06. X
07. Cerebellar Ataxia
08. Candy Lux
09. Cachexia
10. A Study In Apathy (Drugs, Etc)
11. 1000 Airwaves
12. I'll Try To Ignore The Fact That You're Drowning
13. Blackout

No comments: