Friday, March 23, 2012

ÆGES Announce Record Release and Listening Party Events in Los Angeles * Debut Album "The Bridge" Out April 17th on The Mylene Sheath

" a cross between Floor and ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead... Æges will appeal to a wide swath of those fans that swing between Torche and Sparta." - Exclaim!

"The record mines metal and hardcore in many of the same ways that Quicksand or Betty-era Helmet did in the 90s and Cave In or its contemporaries have in latter years..." - BrooklynVegan

" heavy as the band
’s pedigree suggests." - Alternative Press

Following the recently announced details of their forthcoming debut album "The Bridge," out April 17th on The Mylene Sheath, Los Angeles-based rock band and super-group ÆGES have announced their upcoming record release performance taking place March 30th at Vacation Vinyl in Los Angeles.

In addition, the band is also announcing an exclusive listening party event for both the new ÆGES and Pelican albums, taking place next Tuesday, March 27th at Footsies in Los Angeles (2640 N Figueroa St.). Special guest deejay Larry Herweg, drummer for both bands, will join resident djs Scott Carlson (Repulsion, Cathedral), Tom Neely (Henry & Glenn Forever, The Wolf) and Jacco Maccaco (Decibel mag, Ides of Gemini), playing tracks from both albums. Admission for both events is free.

Featuring members Mark Holcomb (Undertow, Shift), Larry Herweg (Pelican, Tusk), Kemble Walters (The Rise, The Blank Faces, Juliette and the Licks), and Tony Baumeister (16, Cutthroats 9), ÆGES recently premiered the first new track to appear from the album, entitled "Wrong," currently available to both stream and download exclusively at

ÆGES Live + Listening Party Events
Tuesday, March 27th Listening Party @ Footsies Los Angeles, CA (FREE)
Friday, March 30th Live Performance @ Vacation Vinyl Los Angeles, CA (FREE)

* Pre-Order "The Bridge" here!

"The Bridge" Track List:
1. Wrong
2. My Medicine
3. Southern Comfort
4. Doesn't Feel The Same
5. Sent From Heaven (Rest In Dirt)
6. The Bridge
7. Roaches
8. The Words We Say
9. I Believe In Ghosts
10. Fade Out

About ÆGES:

With the decline of Western civilization comes a new pilgrimage of musicians looking to carve out their fates from the wreckage of the past. ÆGES are the new breed of California’s creative drifters. ÆGES was founded by Chicago-raised Larry Herweg (Pelican, San Angelus), former Seattleite Mark Holcomb (Undertow, Shift, San Angelus), multi-continent Kemble Walters (The Rise, The Blank Faces, Juliette and the Licks), and the sole California native Tony Baumeister (16, Cutthroats 9).

Converging in Southern California across state lines and international waters, ÆGES use their world-wise musical expertise to rebuild the archetype of the heavy rock band. There’s a definite element of desert rock in ÆGES sound--the low-tuned guitars, the sludgy sun-baked riffs, the deceptive pop hook buried in the molasses-thick instrumentation. Yet the diverse backgrounds of the band members create a unique blend of perspectives and a resultantly fresh sound. The common sonic thread between the four individuals in ÆGES--their tenure in bands that explored the darker side of hardcore—manifests itself in the aggressive tonalities of their sound. But their divergent paths, both geographical and musical, broadened the emotional palette beyond the angst of their earlier bands. Their debut full length, “The Bridge”, is set for release via The Mylene Sheath (Caspian, Junius, Constants) on April 17th, 2012. The album was produced and engineered by the bands own Kemble Walters at The Canshaker Studio in Malibu, CA, and mastered by Mark Chalecki at Little Red Book Mastering (Omar Rodriguez Lopez, Goatsnake, Megadeth).

The new millennium ushered in a new, revitalized era of artistic integrity for LA. We saw it in the age of the acid-hazed ‘60s, the age of the nihilistic Regan-era punks, and the current age of abandoned archetypes of a failed economy. It’s creative optimism in a time of hopelessness. It’s the music of ÆGES. - Brian Cook

ÆGES on Facebook

No comments: