Thursday, February 23, 2012

Mother Falcon Release Debut Album 'Alhambra'

MF Press Photo

Alhambra, the highly anticipated debut album from Austin-based orchestral  pop ensemble Mother Falcon is now available for the first time nationally, as a digital download through Rampant Arts.  The album has been the recipient of much praise around their native Austin, and with the album now available nationally the band is sure to develop the same devoted following on a larger scale.  You can purchase your copy of Alhambra on itunes and most other digital download services.

Mother Falcon has received as many accolades locally for their innovative film scoring as for their electric live rock club performances.  The 18-piece  collective has become known for making full use of the large size of their  lineup, which includes several multi-instrumentalists and vocal contributions from the majority of its members.  In just two years together, they have  managed to craft a signature soundscape.  Their blending of whirling horns, a swelling string section and traditional rock elements has resulted in a refreshingly original act equally at home in a 1920s speakeasy as in a  modern day arena.

They recently released the video for their new single "Just To See Her Smile." This is the second video released from Alhambra.  While the first video from the record, for the track "Alligator Teeth", was based
completely off of a live performance, this new video features more of a backstory set to the narrative of a school play.  The band is also  giving away a free download of the non-album track "Pennies" on their
Facebook page, and you can watch a series of album teasers for Alhambra here.  In addition to preparing for the release of their debut album, the  band is also currently tracking the score to the new documentary Star Nation.  Stay tuned for more announcements as Mother Falcon  supports their debut release, and prepares for a very busy SXSW!

Alhambra Tracklisting

1) Overture
2) Fireflies
3) Sanctuary
4) Drown Me In The River
5) Kathryn
6) Just To See Her Smile
7) Alligator Teeth
8) Rabbit Run
9) Waltz
10) For Papa
11) These Things
12) Serpent Tongues

More on Mother Falcon:

No comments: