Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Brooklyn-based collage artist Realistic debuts video for new single "Token Gestures" today.

Realistic "Token Gestures" from Realistic on Vimeo.

Clip from “Drowned In Meaning” album appropriates Bowie, Boosh and “Big Blue Marble.”

James Towning of Realistic. Photo by Belly.

“Token Gestures” is the first single & video from the upcoming new album “Drowned In Meaning” by Realistic.

“Towning demonstrates a knack for unconventional looping, sonic accumulation, and a good joke.” – All Music Guide

Following up previous releases for the Illegal Art (Girl Talk) and Seeland Records (Negativland) labels among others, Brooklyn-based electronic collage artist James Towning will release his latest album as Realistic this week on February 29th.

Drowned In Meaning’s first single is “Token Gestures” where the Hall & Oates hit “Kiss On My List”, vintage tape of the Mars rover lift off sequence, the sound of a fireworks display that Towning recorded in Brooklyn Heights, and a few dozen additional pieces of audio combine to form a track that sounds strange, familiar and strangely familiar.

The video for the song is now streaming.  Towning says that the clip “is an exploration of multi-layered compositing techniques similar to how the music is created. Snippets of video fromDavid BowieThe Mighty Boosh, and ‘The Big Blue Marble’ are synchronized with the original samples and combined with stock footage of people pretending to feel emotion.”

Drowned In Meaning (the album title is intentionally sarcastic) features 16 tracks comprised of hundreds of samples -- some obvious, some obviously obscure -- stitched and layered withTowning’s own synthesizers, drum machines, digital effects, and keen sense of humor.

“More often than not, I’m drawn to using samples that strike a personal or nostalgic chord,” Towning explains. “I might use two bars from a favorite Cabaret Voltaire track, a snippet from a TV series, or environmental sounds recorded around my neighborhood. Every track has undiscovered conceptual references or an abstract story that I can tell with a new sound that I have on hand.”

Drowned In Meaning, the latest album by Realistic is set for release on the artist’s own Blackmail Electronics label on February 29th, 2012.

Drowned In Meaning
(Blackmail Electronics – Feb. 29th, 2012)
Request: FULL LP

Track Listing:

01. Math is Hard
02. Cuddle Party Headrush
03. Notes to Self
04. Token Gestures (STREAM | MP3 | VIDEO)
05. Drama Distortion
06. Dot Pattern
07. Glitter and Glue
08. Moment of Realisation
09. One Hundred Years
10. Woozy Familiarity
11. Pointless Creative Endeavor
12. The Sea of Showers
13. Good Luck With All That
14. Mining for Content
15. Pursuit of Happiness
16. Late Nights and Weekends

No comments: