Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Matisyahu's "Confidence" Premieres at High Times, "Akeda" Out June 3 on Elm City Music, Select Tour Dates Announced

                                                       Photo Credit: Jared Polin
High Timesis premiering the track “Confidence” (featuring Collie Buddz) from Matisyahu’s forthcoming album Akeda. This is the second pre-release track, following “Watch The Walls Melt Down,” that the Grammy-nominated musician has shared from his forthcoming fifth studio album, which is set to be released June 3, via Elm City Music. Listen to “Confidence” via High Times HERE and on YouTube HERE and preorder it here http://smarturl.it/Akeda_iTunes. In addition, Matisyahu has announced three new performance dates in Colorado, Illinois and California. Find full details below.
The album was recorded in Brooklyn’s Studio G and produced by Dub Trio’s Stu Brooks with assistance from studio owner Joel Hamilton. The material for the album was written both in Matisyahu’s Los Angeles home and while on tour.  Matisyahu states, “This record and period of my life deal with madness, listening for and following the inner intuitive voice, a small still sound.  This record deals with love, with feelings of brokenness and humility, with humanity, struggle, and sacrifice.”
In addition to working with Brooks and Hamilton, Matisyahu also collaborated with Dave Holmes and Joe Tomino from his touring band, Dub Trio, as well as longtime friends and musical collaborators Aaron DuganRob Marscher, and Mark Guiliana. “It was very much an in-house project,” states Matisyahu. “The vocal and musical styles are drawn from many places in order to create my current sound, which cannot be categorized very easily.” The album has a classic live, analog, recorded feel as well as more modern electronic elements.  “There are more tunes on this record that fans may refer to as my ‘roots’ or as reggae tunes, and those songs lead in and out of tunes with more layers, electronic arrangements and other stylistic influences.”  The album features special guest appearances by reggae artist Collie Buddz and hip-hop artist Zion I.
Matisyahu first made a name for himself with his album Live at Stubbs (2005), and Youth (2006) quickly followed and reached #1 onBillboard’s Heatseekers chart and Reggae Albums chart. Both albums subsequently went Gold and Youth was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Reggae Album. 2009’s Light reached #1 on the Reggae Albums chart and stayed in the top spot for 34 weeks. His fourth studio album, Spark Seeker (2011), marked his relocation from Brooklyn to Los Angeles and found him working with Dr. Luke protégé KoOoL Kojak.
Matisyahu Tour Dates
April 20                                                        Denver, CO                        The Waldo’s Music Festival
April 26*                                                 Santa Clarita, CA                     Summer Meltdown Festival
May 17                                                      Richmond, VA                    Dominion RiverRock Festival
May 23                                                       Chillicothe, IL                   Summer Camp Music Festival
May 30                                                     Napa Valley, CA                       BottleRock Music Festival
June 1*                                                    Washington, DC            Lisner Auditorium – Washington
                                                          Jewish Music Festival
June 21                                                    Long Island, NY               Beer Fields Craft Beer & Music
July 3                                                          Del Mar, CA                                   San Diego State Fair
July 5                                                        Milwaukee, WI                                               Summerfest
July 11                                                      Mooresville, IN                                   Serendipity Festival
July 12                                                    Salt Lake City, UT                                      Reggae Rise Up
August 27                                                 Jacksonville, OR                                            Britt Pavilion
*Indicates Acoustic Evening with Matisyahu
1. Reservoir
2. Broken Car
3. Watch The Walls Melt Down
4. Champion
5. Built to Survive (Feat. Zion I)
6. Ayeka (Teach Me To Love)
7. Black Heart
8. Star On The Rise
9. Surrender
10. Confidence (Feat. Collie Buddz)
11. Vow Of Silence
12. Obstacles
13. Hard Way
14. Sick For So Long
15. Akeda

No comments: