Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Pixies Release "Indie Cindy" Today | First Full-Length Album In Over 2 Decades

Check out Pixies' track-by-track YouTube video 
Fans have dreamed about it for years, and nowPixies are delivering. Indie Cindy, the band's first full studio album since 1991'Trompe le Monde, is out today in the U.S. Indie Cindy is being released on the band's own label, Pixiesmusic (marketed and distributed worldwide by [PIAS] Recordings). It is available in all physical and digital retailers, and is streaming this week on MSN Music and last.fm

Pixies Track by Track Commentary (audio & video) |Please Post/Share 

The 12 cuts on Indie Cindy were produced by Gil Norton, producer of the band's classic Doolittle,Bossanova, and Trompe le Monde albums, and recorded during October 2012 at Rockfield Studios in Wales, UK. The various packages feature a collection of brand new artwork by the legendary graphic artist Vaughan Oliver who created the artwork for all of Pixiesprevious releases.  

Pixies are making Indie Cindy available in a selection of formats:

* as a standard 12-track single-CD digipak with booklet

* as a two-disc, deluxe gatefold album, pressed on 180-gram vinyl

* as a standard 12-track digital download via iTunes, Amazon, and other online retail sellers

* as an expanded digital download exclusively through iTunes that includes a bonus live-in-concert 13-track set recorded during the band's recently-completed North American tour

* available at pixiesmusic.com, a special deluxe, limited edition (5,000) two-disc set (available as a CD and as a deluxe gatefold album pressed on 180-gram vinyl) that includes the 13-track live disc. This deluxe package also includes a 40-page, hard-back book that features the new artwork produced exclusively for Indie Cindy. The CD limited edition is packaged in a special gold-foil hard slipcase.

While Pixies have been acclaimed as the most influential, pioneering band of the late 80s alt/rock movement, having blazed the trail for artists from Nirvana to Radiohead to Pearl Jam, today, a whole new generation of music fans are discovering their iconic "loudquietloud" signature sound. After five genre-defining studio albums, Pixies disbanded in 1993, and then launched their reunion tour in April 2004, playing to sell-out crowds all over the globe for seven years, a longer period of time than they were a band originally. But writing, recording and releasing new music was something that the band had been wanting to do for a long time, so they secretly booked studio time in Wales for the fall of 2012. Six days into the recording, founding bassist Kim Deal decided to leave the band; Black Francis, Joey Santiago and David Lovering made the decision to carry on, working with a variety of touring bassists, something they'd never done. As the UK'DIY wrote about the new music, "They're back. They're still brilliant. God save the Pixies."

Indie Cindy Track listing:
  1. What Goes Boom
  2. Greens and Blues
  3. Indie Cindy
  4. Bagboy
  5. Magdalena 318
  6. Silver Snail
  7. Blue Eyed Hexe
  8. Ring the Bell
  9. Another Toe in the Ocean
  10. Andro Queen
  11. Snakes
  12. Jaime Bravo

Track listing for Live In The USA*:
  1. Bone Machine
  2. Hey
  3. Ana
  4. Magdalena 318
  5. Snakes
  6. Indie Cindy
  7. I've Been Tired
  8. Head On
  9. The Sad Punk
  10. Distance Equals Rate Times Time
  11. Something Against You
  12. Isla de Encanta
  13. Planet of Sound

* (with touring bassist Paz Lenchantin)

PixiesOfficial Website | Facebook | Twitter 

Indie CindyiTunes | Amazon 

No comments: