Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Download We Are the Brave "Sparrow (Alcala Remix)", Announce Remix EP

Download the exclusive “Sparrow (Alcala Remix)” HERE

"Channeling similar-sounding acts like Florence and the Machine, Bat For Lashes, and MS MR, the duo’s songs expertly ride the line between the past and the expansive future horizons…we wouldn’t be surprised to find them gaining a foothold right here in the U.S. very, very soon.” – MTV Buzzworthy

“If you haven't yet heard of Sydney synth pop duo We Are The Brave, then it's time to get acquainted.” – V Music Australia

Sydney’s We Are the Brave have announced the release of Sparrow (The Remixes) EP on April 22nd via KID Recordings. The set features dancefloor friendly reworks of the duo’s transfixing anthem from Rich Morel(Morel/BLOWOFF/Deathfix), The Dualists, Culture Fires (aka MANIK), Nightriders and Gnome.

The EP leads off with an extended mix of the brooding title track that swells with sweeping synths and a melancholy saxophone (performed by multi-instrumentalist Mark Cisneros of Deathfix and Medications) before vocalist Jess Chalker’s unmistakable voice cuts through with lyrics as seductive as they are cautionary. Renowned singer/songwriter, producer and DJ Rich Morel brings the instantly memorable vocal melody to the forefront and highlights it with a luminous rhythm that takes the track from midnight to daybreak. The Dualists’propulsive electro-tinged mix chops up Chalker’s voice against a backdrop of bouncy bass and percussion and sparkling horns. The remix is currently streaming on Spotify as a pre-release exclusive. Boston-based nu-disco outfit Nightriders reinvent “Sparrow” into a pulsating and emotive late night anthem that will tug at your heartstrings whether you’re on the dance floor or listening on your headphones. Culture Fires (aka Chris Manik) takes you deeper into the sultry undercurrents of the song with an irresistible bass line, hypnotic synths and dreamy guitars. London-based experimental dream-pop trio Gnome bring out the tracks’ darker edges with their pitched down mix laced with militaristic beats, plaintive guitars, heavily effected vocals and swirling textures that focus on the song’s piercing lyric, “You can’t tame an animal”. As elegant as a swan and as deadly as a hawk, Sparrow (The Remixes) is a thrilling collection that embodies the song’s dynamic kaleidoscopic sound.

In celebration of the release, the band has shared a free download of the exclusive “Sparrow (Alcala Remix)”, not included on the commercial release. Alcala (whose done remixes for artists like M83, Givers and Crystal Castles) adds a seductive pulse that underscores the original’s noir imagery.
Download it here!

We Are the Brave were formed in Sydney when singer-songwriter Jess Chalker began to collaborate with underground hip-hop producer Ox Why. The multi-instrumentalists found common ground in 70s soft rock, adventurous 80s pop, 90s sci-fi, trip-hop and contemporary alterna-pop and were inspired to create a modern sound that re-imagined their influences. Hailed as one of this year’s most promising acts to emerge out of Australia’s fertile indie scene, the duo gained international acclaim and domestic airplay with their self-produced and self-released debut EP Noctua and singles “All Good Things Must Come” and “Sparrow” (with its accompanying MTV Iggy and MTV Buzzworthy championed video directed by James Chappell).  Watch it here!

We Are the Brave will release a new single later this spring. Stay tuned!

Sparrow (The Remixes) Tracklist
  1. “Sparrow (Extended Version)”
  2. “Sparow (Rich Morel’s Hot Sauce Mix)”
  3. “Sparrow (The Dualists Remix)”
  4. “Sparrow (Nightriders Remix)”
  5. “Sparrow (Culture Fires Remix)”
  6. “Sparrow (GNOME Remix)”

No comments: