Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Cheap Girls Share New Track via Paste, On Tour w/ The Hold Steady Now, New Record "Famous Graves" Out 5/13/14

Photo Credit:  Lance Nelson
Michigan power pop trio Cheap Girls shared a new track "Man In Question" off their upcoming fourth full-length Famous Graves today via Paste.  Featuring guest vocals from Craig Finn of The Hold Steady, the release of "Man In Question" coincides perfectly with the start of Cheap Girls' tour with The Hold Steady (all tour dates below).

Famous Graves is slated for a May 13, 2014 release via Xtra Mile Recordings, and will be the label's first worldwide release.  BrooklynVegan recently shared exclusive photos from the album's recording sessions and spoke with singer/bassist Ian Graham about the new record, label and what 2014 has in-store for Cheap Girls.  Read the interview and check out the photos.
If you haven't heard Cheap Girls yet, there's an excellent chance they're your favorite band's favorite band.  Tapped to tour with everyone from The Gaslight Anthem to their recently completed run of dates with Against Me! and their tour with The Hold Steady that begins today, it's apparent that Cheap Girls fans carry some serious clout.
Famous Graves was recorded in Chicago and Grand Rapids by Rick Johnson (who recorded Cheap Girls' first two records, 2008's Find Me a Drink Home & 2009's My Roaring 20's) and Jeff Dean (The Bomb, Dead Ending, All Eyes West). Recorded over 3 months, the band self-produced the record and mixed it with the assistance of Dean.  The follow-up to their 2012 release Giant OrangeFamous Graves sees the band continuing to grow their authentic Midwestern rock that's drawn comparisons to bands such as The Lemonheads, The Replacements, and early Smoking Popes.  (Full tracklisting & album art below.)

Digital pre-order for Famous Graves is now available at:  http://smarturl.it/okjbkn
Cheap Girls is Ian Graham (vocals/bass), Adam Aymor (guitar) and Ben Graham (drums).
01) Slow Nod
02) Short-Cut Days
03) Knock Me Over
04) Amazing Grace
05) Pure Hate
06) Man In Question
07) 2nd Floor
08) Splintered
09) Thought Senseless
10) Turns
Tour Dates:
04/07/14: Washington, D.C. at the 9:30 Club*
04/08/14: Buffalo, NY at the Town Ballroom* 
04/09/14: Toronto, ON at the Phoenix Concert Theatre* 
04/11/14: Albany, NY at the Hollow* 
04/12/14: Pawtucket, RI at the Met Cafe*
* = w/ The Hold Steady

No comments: