Thursday, February 20, 2014

Nothing shares new songs via Rolling Stone, NPR + Announces tour dates




Credit: Shawn Brackbill
Philadelphia-based Nothing are proud to share not one but two new songs. Rolling Stone premiered "Endlessly" and NPR debuted "Get Well" on Tuesday's 'All Songs Considered' show. Both songs are available to stream via the links above. The band's debut LP, Guilty of Everything, will be released on March 4th via Relapse Records.
Rolling Stone also tipped Nothing in their 'Artists You Need To Know' feature and had previously tipped Nothing as one 'CMJ 2013's 10 Best Discoveries' after seeing them perform live; since then the band has toured with Whirr, opened for Cold Cave for Red Bull Music Academy Sound Select, and opened for DIIV on New Years Eve. Nothing will be embarking on new tour dates including a run down to SXSW with Weekend and spot dates with Ty Segall, Pup, and Solids.
Additionally, Relapse Records is launching an Instagram contest for fans of Nothing. It works like this: fans will create their own album cover for Guilty of Everything via a photo, artwork, sculpture, photoshop, etc. and submit them on Instagram with the #guiltyofeverything hashtag. The best entries will be reposted and have the chance to win the new album on vinyl. 

Tour Dates:

Mar 02 - Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie (Record Release Show) *
Mar 03 - Washington DC @ Black Cat *
Mar 04 - Richmond, VA @ The Camel *
Mar 05 - Asheville, NC @ Emerald Lounge *
Mar 06 - Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover Music Festival *
Mar 07 - Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade (Purgatory Room) *
Mar 08 - Birmingham AL @ The Bottletree Cafe *
Mar 10 - New Orleans, LA @ Circle Bar *
Mar 11 - Baton Rouge, LA - Gas, Food & Lodging Fest @ Spanish Moon *
Mar 12 - Austin TX - SXSW Relapse Showcase @ Dirty Dog
Mar 16 - Dallas TX - Spillover Music Fest @ Club Dada & Three Links $
Mar 17 - Oxford MS @ Proud Larry's @
Mar 18 - Chicago IL @ Beat Kitchen
Mar 19 - Baltimore MD @ The Gold Bar
Mar 20 - Brooklyn NY @ St. Vitus

*With Weekend
$ With Ty Segall
@ With Pup, Solids

About Nothing:

Nothing was formed in 2011 by Domenic Palermo. Previously Palermo was the brains behind the early 2000's hardcore/punk act Horror Show. in 2002 Horror Show was put on hold after Palermo was incarcerated for a stabbing that eventually led to a 2 year prison sentence. Upon his return Palermo would take a lengthy hiatus from music. In 2011 Palermo released a demo tape titled "Poshlost" under the moniker NOTHING. After several attempts at constructing a solid lineup for the band Palermo met Brandon Setta. Setta would bring a lush, rich soundscape and a fresh approach to Palermo's vision for Nothing. Setta and Palermo would handle the writing for the next release, a very rare 12" EP that was released on Japanese boutique label Big Love Records called Suns And Lovers(A play off of the D.H. Lawernce book). It was limited to 300 copies and the bands share was donated back to the label for a Tsunami Relief Charity. The next release, Downward Years To Come was a 5 song EP and was recorded at the Rubber Tracks Studio in Brooklyn with Kyle "Slick" Johnson. The record was released by Baltimore Label A389 Records in November 2012. Written by Palermo and Setta, the concept behind Downward Years To Come was a dedication to several different poets who had taken their own lives. Head to Nothing's bandcamp page here to stream or purchase Downward Years To Come and Suns And Lovers. Setta and Palermo would again head into the studio, this time with Jeff Zeigler at Uniform Recordings to write their debut LP, Guilty of Everything and sign with Relapse Records.
Guilty of Everything
(March 4th, Relapse Records)
1. Hymn To The Pillory
2. Dig
3. Bent Nail
4. Endlessly
5. Somersault
6. Get Well
7. Beat Around The Bush
8. B&E
9. Guilty of Everything

No comments: