Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Tim Larson premieres video via Brooklyn Vegan (RIYL Mark Lanegan, M. Gira, The National, etc.)

"His dark pronouncements make even Nick Cave sound positively giddy by comparison." -- Blurt

Chicago songwriter Tim Larson premieres the first video from his sophomore album Vargar viaBrooklyn Vegan today. The stark clip for the equally stark track "Don't Look Down" is available towatch/share HERE

Brooklyn vegan also recently premiered the tune "Chasing It", available to listen/share HERE. And previously, Larson shared the first track, "6" to kick off Midwestern tour dates. That song is available to stream/download HERE

The history of song, put simply, is at its heart our collective attempts at confronting entropy. As all things move toward their end; as relationships grow and break down, we use music either as an escape or as catharsis to soften the impact. Vargar, the sophomore album by Chicago songwriter Tim Larson explores a range of themes relating to "the end." 

Larson's stark, often blunt lyrics and weathered baritone shares similarities to Michael Gira (Swans, Angels of Light) and Mark Lanegan, while the music often takes a more direct, anthemic approach reminiscent of The National. And, there are also generous shades of hazy shoegaze guitar and moody gothic overtones wedded to song structures that are pure American folk/blues at heart. It's no surprise that Larson's varied influences connect the dots between Son House and Bauhaus

Larson has a college degree in music composition, being skilled at guitar, bass, mandolin, violin and piano. Born and raised in south side Chicago, he spent much of his college years touring as a member of the acclaimed Irish band The Drovers. In 2002, he retired from the band and has since been earning what we'd call an "honest living" in the asphalt business and pursuing his own music, releasing a solo debut No Weapons, No Allies in 2007, then with backing band The Owner/Operators for A New Deal and A Done Deal EP in 2011. Now, Larson returns as an eponymous solo artist. He's joined onVargar by drummer Ryan Durdin, formerly of The Winter Sounds

Vargar (a Swedish word for wolves) was released on CD and download on February 4th, 2014. 

Artist: Tim Larson
Album: Vargar
Label: Self-released
Release Date: February 4th, 2014

01) Chasing It (MP3)
02) 6 (MP3
03) Dust
04) Don't Look Down (VIDEO)
05) Shadow
06) I Follow Death
07) Dark Outside
08) Vargar

On The Web:

No comments: