Thursday, February 13, 2014

Donovan Wolfington Keef Rip on Noisey Sans Pants, New EP Out 4/8 via Topshelf Records

Donovan Wolfington Sign to Topshelf Records, Release New EP Scary Stories You Tell in the Dark April 8, 2014
Stream "Keef Ripper" via Noisey
SXSW & April US Tour Dates Announced
Photo Credit: Ben Davis
Here's the thing about New Orleans indie punks Donovan Wolfington - they're incredibly loveable.  Every single track on their upcoming 5-song EP Scary Stories You Tell in the Dark(out April 8, 2014 via Topshelf Records) blends sharp angsty-pop sensibilities that evoke bands such as Weezer and Desaparecidos with shimmering guitar lines that wouldn't be out of place on a Thin Lizzy record.  Couple this with the fact that most of the members are barely 21 and even when the band screams "Get fucked!" in the closing track "Hey Alex", you can't help but grin a little (full tracklisting below).
Noisey has the premiere of their track "Keef Ripper" today, and credits the new EP for "fuck[ing] us up. In a good way. It’s a scattered mix of about a dozen genres rolled into one. Some parts party punk, other parts post-hardcore, even a little 90s alterna-rock and grunge mixed in. We dug it."
Listen to "Keef Ripper": 
Guitarists/vocalists Neil Berthier and Matthew Seferian met at their college freshman orientation in 2011.  When they realized they not only shared the common dream of getting out of college alive but also the problem that everyone else they had jammed with was not trying to rock nearly as hard as they were, Donovan Wolfington was born.  The current line-up also includes Savannah Saxton (keyboards/vocals) and Michael Saladis (drums).
Scary Stories You Tell in the Dark is the follow-up to 2013's debut full-length Stop Breathing.  ForScary Stories the band enlisted the help of Chaz Sexton to record everthing except the drums, which drummer Michael Saladis recorded himself as well as mixing and mastering the entire EP. 
Donovan Wolfington will be at SXSW this year and will also embark on a brief US tour in April (all tour dates below).
Track Listing:
01) Sleeping
02) Quitting
03) Alone
04) Keef Ripper
05) Hey Alex
Tour Dates:
3/12/2014    SXSW
3/13/2014    SXSW
3/14/2014    SXSW
3/15/2014    SXSW
4/11/2014    Birmingham, Al @ The Forge
4/12/2014    Nashville, TN @ Neuhau5
4/13/2014    Chicago, IL @ Township
4/14/2014    Grand Rapids, MI @ The House of Pancakes
4/15/2014    Pittsburgh, PA @ The Mr. Roboto Project
4/16/2014    Philadelphia, PA @ Gold Tea House
4/17/2014    Brooklyn @ Death By Audio
4/18/2013    Baltimore, MD @ Charm City Art Space
4/19/2014    Richmond, VA @ House Address

No comments: