Friday, July 29, 2011

Nazca Lines Premiere New Song "Spike Them All" feat. Cody Votolato of Blood Brother / Jaguar Love * New Album "Hyperventilation" Out August 23rd

Stream / download "Spike Them All" @ Alternative Press!

Seattle post-punk upstarts Nazca Lines have just premiered their new track "Spike Them All," a pummeling assault and study in technicality, featuring guest musician and guitarist Cody Votolato (Blood Brothers / Jaguar Love). The track appears on the band's upcoming, Matt Bayles-produced debut full length album "Hyperventilation" out August 23rd on the UK-based Stressed Sumo Records (run in part by co-founder Neil Cooper of Therapy?).

In addition, and following their recent appearance at Seattle's Capitol Hill Block Party, the band has also announced a small handful of Northwest performances taking place around the album's release (full itinerary below).

"Intelligently crafted aural madness 8/10" - Rock Sound Magazine

"Damn fine first bite of a North American post-punk alt.rock" - Organ Zine

"Hyperventilation" Track List
1. This Little Island
2. Bones In Boxes
3. This Crippled Devil
4. Swedish Kiss
5. From The Bottom Of A Crevasse

6. Spike Them All (feat. Cody Votolato)
7. The Ghost
8. Golden Sunsets
9. Four Foxes
10. New Volume (feat. Cody Votolato)

* Artwork by Cody Votolato

Nazca Lines Live!
Aug 15th @ the Biltmore Vancouver, BC
Aug 26th @ the Sunset Tavern Seattle, WA

Since 2005, Seattle based punk band Nazca Lines have been piecing together songs which combine emotionally charged lyrics and a loud post-rock/punk instrumentation. Having stuck it out through a number of lineup changes since the band's formation, founding members and guitarists Cory Alfano and Brett Wedeking have recruited Andy King and Ryan Minch on drums and bass, respectively for their upcoming full length album, "Hyperventilation."

Nazca Lines has a punk lineage which shows initially in song writing and energy; however, given a closer inspection the listener can hear a more contemplative and ponderous side of the band. Recorded at the Red Room in Seattle with producer and Minus the Bear founder Matt Bayles (whose recent production work includes Mastodon, ISIS and Russian Circles), "Hyperventilation" draws inspiration from a variety of the band members' shared influences; most notably the Refused, At the Drive-In and Fugazi.

In February 2011, the band released their self-titled EP through Stressed Sumo Records and will be releasing their latest full length album on August 23rd also through the label. Stressed Sumo Records was set up in Derby, UK in 2007 by Therapy? drummer Neil Cooper and Phil Rhodes.

* Additional guitar on ‘Spike Them All’ and ‘New Volume’ by Cody Votolato (Blood Brothers, Hyro Da Hero and Jaguar Love), piano on ‘New Volume’ by Evan Friday. Hyperventilation was mastered at RFI, Seattle by Ed Brooks (Pearl Jam, Fleet Foxes)

No comments: