Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Sennen To Release "Age of Denial" LP Digitally On May 31st On Minty Fresh / US Dates To Come / Limited Edition Blue Vinyl Sold Out

Click HERE to view "With You" video.

“Shoe-gazing dream pop bliss”
-The Sunday Times (U.K.)

‘Roaring statement of intent from the Norwich based post rockers. Underneath all the guitars there’s an indie anthem screaming to get out.’ NME

‘This will make grown shoegazers weep their plimsols into a puddly mess’ Maxim (4/5)

Sennen are pleased to announce their debut U.S. release.

The album, Age of Denial, was initially released as a limited edition, blue, heavy weight vinyl for Record Store Day through Minty Fresh Records. All 250 blue vinyl sold out during pre-sale. A download of the album will be now be available on May 31st on Minty Fresh plus an extra 250 black vinyl have been pressed, of which there a few copies left.

Sennen are an outstanding band from Norfolk, England who produce uncorrupted, oddly schizophrenic, patient pop music in the slipstreams of their influences; Spaceman 3, Sonic Youth, Mercury Rev and Teenage Fan Club. Working at their own pace in the flush expanse of the Norfolk countryside, they have released in the UK through local Norwich label, Hungry Audio.

Their first single release, the limited edition 7”, ‘Blackout,’ was immediately championed by Zane Lowe at Radio One and John Kennedy at XFM, earning the band supports with the likes of Editors, Explosions in The Sky and Ulrich Schnauss. Their debut album, ‘Where the Light Gets In,’ received universal praise and swiftly moved them onto a byway away from the tranquility of Norfolk to national tours, prestigious tour supports, including a European tour with dEUS, festivals, sorties abroad, club nights, radio play & sessions.

As a new, devoted audience developed, in the UK, Europe and Japan, the band spent their time writing and recording the album, Age of Denial with Pat Collier (House of Love, Wonderstuff, Mary Chain, My Life Story, Adorable). During recording, The 'Destroy Us EP' was released in December 2009 and further critical acclaim ensued. It was XFM’s X-Posure’s Hot One and received their first daytime radio plays. Amongst others, it was The Sunday Times hottest download. Their cover version of New Order’s Bizarre Love Triangle also picked up radio play and claimed a small creed of supporters across the globe. It was also used in One Tree Hill in America.

Age of Denial was released in the UK in 2010 to even more praise and the single ‘With You’ received a good deal of specialist and daytime radio. NME said, ‘it straddles the Atlantic, assimilating US sun drenched harmony pop while espousing shoegazy noises from these shores… gorgeous.’

The album is a remarkable package of dreamy pop music sitting perfectly within their trademark, exhilarating sound. It affirms and defines their brilliance, in their ability to abruptly change musical lanes from startlingly beautiful to powerful, hypnotic anthems of infused noise. From the stadium proportions of the title track to the droning yet absurdly catchy beats of With You. The unashamed pop of A Little High and Innocence, the signatory, uplifting, Sennen-flavoured indie of Broken Promise, Red Horizon and Can’t See The Light. Riding alongside it is the heart wrenching Sleep Heavy Tonight & Falling Down plus the dirty grunge of S.O.S. (used on the U.S. drama True Blood.)

Sennen are Laurence Holmes (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Richard Kelleway (vocals, guitar), Tim Kelleway (bass) and James Brown (drums).

No comments: