Friday, July 11, 2008

Passion Pit To Release Debut EP "Chuck Of Change" On Frenchkiss Records Sept 16th 2008

Voted Best New 2008 Boston Local Act By WFNX & Boston Phoenix
NYC Piano’s August Residency

Limited Edition 7" Vinyl Of "Sleepyhead"/"Better Things" Out On Neon Gold Records Sept 2

WFNX/Boston Phoenix & WFUN Name Passion Pit Best New Boston Act : “And winners Passion Pit, the sexy five-piece soulchild of songwriter Michael Angelakos, might just be the funkiest local group since the Jonzun Crew. Passion Pit only have a handful of shows under their belt, but as their BMP win suggests, people are psyched about this band. And for good reason: if you haven’t been experienced yet, turn up them computer speakers, point your browser to their MySpace page, click on “Better Things,” and your ass will follow.”
Boston's Passion Pit is the brainchild of Michael Angelakos. A songwriter's songwriter drawing from a variety of influences, from the classic pop of Randy Newman to the synth work of Giorgio Moroder.

The Chunk of Change EP was originally put together as a (belated) Valentine's Day present to Angelakos' girlfriend which then prompted him to give it out to friends and fellow students at Emerson College. Angelakos wrote and recorded the entire album by himself and it only hints at what is to come from this extremely talented perfectionist. The production of the recording - brief, sporadic, and explosive - worked towards the development of Angelakos' signature euphoric and blissfully melancholic sound. Frenchkiss Records will reissue the ep this fall with the addition of two bonus tracks "Better Things" and "Sleepyhead" that are already catching the online world on fire. All of this is in preparation for Passion Pit's debut full length coming out in early 2009.

Playing as a five piece live, Passion Pit has already blown away audiences opening up for Death Cab For Cutie, Girl Talk, These New Puritans and more. Also winning the WFNX/Boston Phoenix Best Music Poll as the Best New Local Act of 2008, Passion Pit hopes to bring their soulful dance explosion to your town this fall.


1. I've Got Your Number
2. Batty Lashes
3. Smile Upon Me
4. Cuddle Fuddle
5. Tons of Guns
6. Live to Tell The Tale
7. Better Things (Bonus Track)
8. Sleepyhead (Bonus Track)

The Band: Michael Angelakos (voice, keys, piano, synth), Ian Hultquist (synth, voice)
Thom Plasse (bass, synth), Ayad Al Adhamy (synth, sample, voice)

No comments: