Monday, December 14, 2009

Title Tracks (ex-Q And Not U) Announce Debut Album for Ernest Jenning!

Title Tracks(feat John Davis of Q And Not U / Georgie James)Announce Debut Album, "It Was Easy," Out February 9th on Ernest Jenning * US Tourdates w/ Pretty and Nice!

John Davis stepped out from behind the drumset when his beloved D.C. outfit Q And Not U went RIP, launching the short-lived follow-up project Georgie James. That band with Laura Berhenn saw John on songwriting, vocal, and other instrumental duties, releasing one solid album before calling it a day and paving the way for Davis's next evolutionary leap: the solo LP It Was Easy, under the moniker Title Tracks, on which he plays and sings everything, save a guest vocal by Camera Obscura's Tracyanne Campbell on a pair of tracks and a sax line by Kriston Capps on another. -

In early 2008, after several years spent in Washington D.C. bands like Q And Not U and Georgie James, John Davis decided he was ready to go out and start writing and recording albums on his own. John began work on the songs that were to become the first Title Tracks album in January 2008, as the unhappy fate of Georgie James became clear to him. By the time that Georgie James officially split up in the summer of 2008, John had an album's worth of songs ready to go and began playing shows with a new group behind him by the end of that summer.

“It Was Easy” is the debut full-length from Title Tracks, John's solo project. It contains nine original songs and two covers (Bruce Springsteen's “Tougher Than The Rest” and The Byrds' “She Don't Care About Time”). The originals run the spectrum from the taut, angry “Every Little Bit Hurts,” “Found Out” (both of which, in different recordings, were released as a single on Dischord Records in April 2009) and “Piles Of Paper” to the sunnier “Hello There” and “Steady Love” to the melancholy “At Fifteen,” “No, Girl” and the title track.

Other than a turn from guest saxophonist Kriston Capps on “No, Girl,” John plays all of the instruments on the record, a skill gained from his years as a drummer in Q And Not U and a guitarist/singer in Georgie James. Tracyanne Campbell of Camera Obscura guests on two songs as well, “No, Girl” and “Tougher Than The Rest.”

* “It Was Easy” will be released on February 9, 2010. It was recorded and produced by Nick Anderson along with John and Chad Clark at Brookland Studios and Silver Sonya Studios in the early months of 2009. Touring will follow throughout the spring of 2009 and on into the year. For live shows, John is joined by his friends Nick Anderson on guitar, Michael Cotterman on bass and Andrew Black on drums.

Listen to two tracks from the new album exclusively on STEREOGUM: "Every Little Bit Hurts" (Download Here) & "Piles of Paper" (Stream Here.)

Title Tracks Live!

w/ Pretty and Nice
Feb 11 2010 Black Cat Washington DC
Feb 14 2010 Brillobox Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Feb 16 2010 The Pike Room Pontiac, Michigan
Feb 18 2010 The Hideout Chicago, Illinois
Feb 19 2010 Der Rathskellar at WIsconsin Union Madison, Wisconsin
Feb 21 2010 Hi Tone Cafe Memphis, Tennessee
Feb 24 2010 The Mohawk Austin, Texas
Mar 1 2010 Local 506 Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Mar 2 2010 Gallery 5 Richmond, Virginia

+ More dates coming soon!

No comments: