Thursday, June 19, 2008

Danny Tenaglia Returns With A New Compilation, New Single and First-Ever Ibiza Residency

FUTURISM : June 25 (Digital) / August 5 (CD)
“The Space Dance” : June 3 (Digital), July 22 (Vinyl)
Space Ibiza Residency Kicks Off July 3rd

New York – Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the future.

After a six-year hiatus from releasing compilations, DANNY TENAGLIA is back with double-CD set FUTURISM (Tommy Boy). Single “The Space Dance,” the first new original music from Tenaglia since 2004, was inspired by his sets at Space, the Ibiza superclub where he will also hold down a weekly residency – his first ever on the island – throughout the summer.

The adventurous, addictive FUTURISM captures the sounds that the beloved DJ/producer is playing right now. Featuring minimal tech grooves like “Filthy Phunk” (Shinedoe), “Rolling Brooklyn” (Luca Bacchetti), and “I Ment To Be Sharp” (Davide Squillace), the set is unmistakably of-the-moment. But unexpected explosions like “Tiir” (DJ Mosoga); haunting, disembodied vocals; and Tenaglia’s own secret samples bring the mix to deeper levels. It’s techy, it’s tribal, it’s twisted, yet somehow timeless: It’s unmistakably Danny.

“If you think of the word ‘techno,’ it’s just short for technology,” says Tenaglia. “What was Kraftwerk doing? What was Larry Levan doing up in the booth, with reel-to-reel and reverb? They were being experimental.”

At the time of his last compilation, “Back To Basics” (2002), Tenaglia was a resident at New York venue Vinyl/Arc. His weekly Be Yourself party was one of the city’s last havens for music lovers. When the club closed in April 2004, Tenaglia took to the road, and became one of the most successful touring DJs in the world. To date, he has traveled to over 28 countries, playing for crowds from 200 to 200,000.

A slate of tour dates supporting FUTURISM will carry Tenaglia from coast to coast and ocean to ocean over the upcoming year, but the summer belongs to Ibiza. Tenaglia will hold down a weekly Thursday residency at legendary White Isle venue Space, the first of his career. Guests DJs and lineups will be announced soon.

FUTURISM Tracklisting:

CD One
1. Indigo Bay – Yello
2. Metaphysical Vibe – R.T.A.
3. Bodydrummin’ – Afefe Iku
4. Can't Cheat With Concrete – Guillaume & The Coutu Dumonts
5. Cyclette – Jitzu & Sire G
6. Hankkofloppe – Wighnomy Brothers
7. Tiir – DJ Msoga (Burchan's Bomb)
8. Asylum Sneaker – Magik Johnson
9. Rolling Brooklyn – Luca Bacchetti
10. Filthy Phunk – Shinedoe
11. Desire – GummiHz
12. Work Me – Bumpin' Ugly
13. Emergency – Mastiksoul
14. The Space Dance – Danny Tenaglia

CD Two
1. Mid Life Crisis – Fred Giannelli
2. 3Tempo3 – PuNto
3. Murder Murder – Silent Servant (Burch Bomb 2)
4. Morodem – Phase
5. Your Face Is A Mess – Gel Abril
6. Mothership Pt. 1 – Dave Angel
7. Beatific – Daniel D
8. I Ment to Be Sharp – Davide Squillace
9. Big Bang – Hertz
10. No Revolution – Joris Voorn
11. Birth – Peter Horrevorts
12. Twisted (Got Me Goin’ Round) – Ultra Nate
13. Perfect Moment – Andreas Heiszenberger
14. Space Dance Vox – Danny Tenaglia

No comments: