Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Paper Bag Records To Release Sally Shapiro's US Debut Disco Romance

Paper Bag Records is pleased to announce the track listing and release of Swedish singer Sally Shapiro’s 2007 debut Disco Romance in North America on October 30. The album was written and produced by Johan Agebjörn and saw its breakthrough European release last year, making an impact around the globe. The US release will feature three brand new tracks: “Skating in the Moonshine”, “He Keeps Me Alive” and “Jackie Jackie”, as well as the extended version of the single that started it all, “I’ll Be By Your Side”, previously only available on vinyl.

The European release of Disco Romance was met with overwhelming praise, earning an 8.5/10 and “Best New Music” at Pitchfork in early 2007, a number 11 position in the iTunes US electronic charts and numerous featured interviews in publications such as Vice and XLR8R magazine’s with the reserved and ambiguous Shapiro. Among others enthusiasts were the Village Voice and The San Francisco Bay Guardian, who claimed, “Fans of St. Etienne and Annie should run out and buy it before they've finished reading this sentence. (It’s an) early contender for album of the year.”

Sally Shapiro has remained somewhat of an enigma and a mystery to her followers. She has, for example, turned up to her own release party incognito, and is rarely photographed. From a relationship born out of mere office acquaintances in 2001, Shapiro and Johan Agebjörn found common ground in 2004 when an exchange of mix tapes revealed their shared musical taste which included such artists as Madonna, Limahl, Visage, Savage and Fun Fun. Eventually “I’ll Be By Your Side”, the single penned by Agebjörn, premiered on the popular Swedish P3. The care put into this new version will further secure its place as one of the year’s most heartfelt and utterly irresistible albums.

Disco Romance tracklisting:

1. I'll Be By Your Side (Extended Mix)

2. I Know

3. Find My Soul

4. Time to Let Go

5. Anorak Christmas

6. He Keeps Me Alive

7. Hold Me So Tight

8. Skating in the Moonshine

9. Jackie Jackie (Spend This Winter With Me)

10. Sleep in My Arms

Paper Bag Records is a Canadian based and owned record label. Paper Bag, now in fifth year, was just recently voted #14 best indie label in the US publication, XLR8R Magazine. Most recent releases have been Tokyo Police Club and You Say Party! We Say Die! and licensed additional Scandinavian artists Under Byen and Figurines for North America and Canadarespectively. Paper Bag has also had the pleasure of furthering the careers of Broken Social Scene and Stars via past releases.

For more information visit www.paperbagrecords.com

No comments: