Tuesday, July 29, 2014

MY BROTHER THE WIND: Details Of New LP From Swedish Cosmic Improv Rock Act Confirmed

Sweden's instrumental cosmic rock quartet, MY BROTHER THE WIND, is preparing for their third studio LP, Once There Was A Time When Time And Space Were One, to see release this Autumn via Free Electric Sound, the instrumental subdivision of The Laser's Edge.

Boasting MY BROTHER THE WIND's expansive, entirely improvised style of spacious, psychedelic rock completely void of vocals, Once There Was A Time When Time And Space Were One was recorded live in the studio with no overdubs during a single day in January 2013, the band utilizing six and twelve string acoustic and electric guitars, mellotron, flute, bass, drums, congas and more to complete the task. The album was captured in full analog on 2" tape courtesy of a 16 track Ampex from 1969 at Drop Out Analogue, in Åmål, Sweden, with engineering duties handled by Love Tholin, who used vintage flangers, plate reverbs and tape echoes to achieve the LP's unrestrained sound and exceptionally organic tones, after which it was mixed by Tholin and the band, and mastered by Hans Fredriksson. Once There Was A Time When Time And Space Were One is also the first recording with the band's new drummer Daniel Fridlund Brandt -- who also handled the art direction with graphic designer Andreas Lindelöw -- the lineup completed by Nicklas Barker, Mathias Danielsson, and Ronny Eriksson.

With the outfit's four members hailing from Stockholm, Åmål, and Gothenburg, MY BROTHER THE WIND is a fully improvisational cosmic rock collective consisting of members of widely known Swedish acts Makajodama, Magnolia, Animal Daydream and most notably Anekdoten, one of the more widely recognized names in the 1990s prog rock revival. Once There Was A Time When Time And Space Were One captures the collective's progressive soundscape qualities with incredible analog studio production. Expect forty-five sprawling minutes of the band's most succinct material to date, recorded deep in the snowy, forested, Swedish wilderness.Those who frequent the works of Popol Vuh, Amon Duul, Sun Ra, Träd, Gräs Och Stenar, Albert Ayler, Ash Ra Tempel, Gong, Pink Floyd and other visionary, psychedelic rock artists are advised to investigate this act.

Free Electric Sound will release Once There Was A Time When Time And Space Were One via digital, CD and deluxe LP formats on October 14th. Stay tuned for audio from the album and further updates as the new album nears release.

Once There Was A Time When Time And Space Were One Track Listing:
1. Prologue
2. Song Of Innocence part 1
3. Song Of innocence part 2
4. Into The Cosmic Halo
5. Misty Mountainside
6. Garden Of Delights
7. Thomas Mera Gartz
8. Once There Was A Time When Time And Space Were One
9. Epilogue

No comments: